Journal cover Journal topic
Hydrology and Earth System Sciences An interactive open-access journal of the European Geosciences Union

Executive editors

Erwin
Zehe
(chief-executive editor)

Institute of Water Resources and River Basin Management, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology KIT
Kaiserstrasse 12
76129 Karlsruhe
Germany
Erwin Zehe

Theresa
Blume

GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences, Section 5.4 Hydrology
Germany

Hannah
Cloke

University of Reading, Geography and Environmental Science/Meteorology
United Kingdom
Hannah Cloke

Alberto
Guadagnini

Politecnico di Milano, Dip. di Ingegneria Civile e Ambientale
Piazza Leonardo da Vinci 32
20133 Milano
Italy

Editors

Philippe
Ackerer

CNRS, Laboratory of HYdrology and GEochemistry of Strasbourg
France

Stacey
Archfield

U.S. Geological Survey, National Research Program
12201 Sunrise Valley Drive, Mail Stop 430
Virginia
Reston 20190
United States
Phone +1.703.648.5868
sarch@usgs.gov
Stacey Archfield

Sabine
Attinger

Helmholtz Zentrum für Umweltforschung, Hydrosystemmodellierung
Germany

Nandita
Basu

University of Waterloo, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Canada

Brian
Berkowitz

Weizmann Institute of Science, Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences
Herzl Street 234
7610001 Rehovot
Israel
Phone 972 8 9342098
brian.berkowitz@weizmann.ac.il
Brian Berkowitz

Matthias
Bernhardt

BOKU/Vienna, Institute of Water Management, Hydrology and Hydraulic Engineering (IWHW), WAU
Muthgasse 18
Vienna
1190 Vienna
Austria
Phone 014765481608
matthias.bernhardt@boku.ac.at
Matthias Bernhardt

Günter
Blöschl

Vienna University of Technology, Institute for Hydraulic and Water Resources Engineering
Karlsplatz 13/222
1040 Vienna
Austria
Phone +43-(0)1-5880122315
bloeschl@hydro.tuwien.ac.at
Günter Blöschl

Thom
Bogaard

Delft University of Technology, Water Resources Section
Stevinweg 1
2600 GA Delft
Netherlands
Phone 31 (0)15 2784286
t.a.bogaard@tudelft.nl
Thom Bogaard

Axel
Bronstert

University of Potsdam, Institute of Earth and Environmental Sciences, Chair for Hydrology and Climatology
Karl-Liebknecht-Str. 24-25
14476 Potsdam-Golm
Germany
Phone +49-(0)331-9772548
axelbron@uni-potsdam.de
Axel Bronstert

Wouter
Buytaert

Imperial College London, Civil and Environmental Engineering
United Kingdom
w.buytaert@imperial.ac.uk

Andràs
Bàrdossy

University of Stuttgart, Institute for Modelling Hydraulic and Environmental Systems
Pfaffenwaldring 61
70550 Stuttgart
Germany
Phone +49-(0)711-68564663
bardossy@iws.uni-stuttgart.de

Jesús
Carrera

CSIC, IDAEA, Geosciences
c/Jordi Girona 18
Barcelona
08034 Barcelona
Spain
jesus.carrera.ramirez@gmail.com

Greg
Characklis

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Dept. of Environmental Sciences and Engineering
United States

Miriam
Coenders-Gerrits

Delft University of Technology, Water Resources Section
Netherlands
a.m.j.coenders@tudelft.nl
Miriam Coenders-Gerrits

Carlo
De Michele

Politecnico di Milano, CEE
Piazza Leonardo da Vinci 32
20133 Milano
Italy
Phone +39-(0)2-23996233
carlo.demichele@polimi.it

Gerrit H.
de Rooij

Helmholtz-Zentrum fuer Umweltforschung - UFZ, Department Bodenphysik
Theodor-Lieser-Strasse 4
Sachsen-Anhalt
06120 Halle (Saale)
Germany
Phone +49 (0)345 558 5343
gerrit.derooij@ufz.de

Giuliano
Di Baldassarre

Uppsala University, Earth Sciences
Sweden
Giuliano Di Baldassarre

Uwe
Ehret

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology KIT, Institute of Water Resources and River Basin Management
Kaiserstrasse 12
76129 Karlsruhe
Germany
uwe.ehret@kit.edu
Uwe Ehret

Fabrizio
Fenicia

Eawag, SIAM
Switzerland
fabrizio.fenicia@eawag.ch

Ty P. A.
Ferre

University of Arizona, Hydrology and Water Resources
United States

Graham
Fogg

University of California
United States
gefogg@ucdavis.edu

Jim
Freer

University of Bristol, School of Geographical Sciences
University Road
Bristol BS8 1SS
United Kingdom
Phone +44-(0)117-3318388
jim.freer@bristol.ac.uk

Alexander
Gelfan

Water Problems Institute, Russian Academy of Sciences
Gubkina, 3
119333 Moscow
Russian Federation
Phone +7(499) 783-3580
hydrowpi@iwp.ru
Alexander Gelfan

Pierre
Gentine

Columbia University, Earth Institute, Earth and Environmental Engineering
United States
Pierre Gentine

Anas
Ghadouani

The University of Western Australia, School of Civil, Environmental and Mining Engineering
35, Stirling Highway - M015
Perth - Crawley 6009
Australia
Phone +618-(0)6488-2687
anas.ghadouani@uwa.edu.au
Anas Ghadouani

Mauro
Giudici

Universita degli Studi di Milano, Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra
Via Cicognara 7
20129 Milano
Italy
mauro.giudici@unimi.it
Mauro Giudici

Roberto
Greco

Università degli Studi della Campania, DICDEA, Dipartimento di Ingegneria Civile, Design, Edilizia e Ambiente
via Roma 9
81031 Aversa (CE)
Italy
Phone 0039-081-5010207
roberto.greco@unicampania.it
Roberto Greco

Harrie-Jan
Hendricks Franssen

Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, Agrosphere (IBG-3)
Germany
Harrie-Jan Hendricks Franssen

Matthew
Hipsey

The University of Western Australia, School of Earth and Environment, Centre for Ecohydrology
35 Stirling Highway
Perth WA 6009
Australia
matt.hipsey@uwa.edu.au
Matthew Hipsey

Markus
Hrachowitz

Delft University of Technology, Civil Engineering and Geosciences, Water Resources Section
Stevinweg 1
2600GA Delft
Netherlands
m.hrachowitz@tudelft.nl

Bill
Hu

Jinan University, Department of Ecology
China

Graham
Jewitt

University of KwaZulu-Natal, University of KwaZulu-Natal, Centre for Water Resources Research,, Univ of KwaZulu-Natal
South Africa

Thomas
Kjeldsen

University of Bath, Architecture and Civil Engineering
United Kingdom
t.r.kjeldsen@bath.ac.uk
Thomas Kjeldsen

Demetris
Koutsoyiannis

National Technical University of Athens, NTUA Research Committe
Heroon Polytechneiou 5
GR-157 80 Zographou
Greece
Phone +30-210-7722831
dk@itia.ntua.gr
Demetris Koutsoyiannis

Dominic
Mazvimavi

University of the Western Cape, Institute for Water Studies
Private Bag X17
7535 Bellville
South Africa
Phone +27219592871

Hilary
McMillan

San Diego State University, Department of Geography
5500 Campanile Drive
CA
San Diego 92182
United States
Hilary McMillan

Ralf
Merz

Helmhotz Centre for Environmental Research UFZ, Department for Catchment Hydrology
Theodor-Lieser-Strasse 4
06120 Halle (Saale)
Germany
ralf.merz@ufz.de

Matjaz
Mikos

University of Ljubljana, Faculty of Civil and Geodetic Engineering
Jamova c. 2
1000 Ljubljana
Slovenia
Phone +386-(0)1-4254380
matjaz.mikos@fgg.uni-lj.si
Matjaz Mikos

Roger
Moussa

Institut National de la Recherche Agronomique (INRA), Laboratoire d'étude des Interactions entre Sol, Agrosystème et Hydrosystème (LISAH)
2 Place Pierre Viala
34060 Montpellier Cedex 2
France
Phone +33 4 99 61 24 56
roger.moussa@inra.fr
Roger Moussa

Insa
Neuweiler

Leibniz Universität Hannover, Institute of Fluid Mechanics, Department of Civil Engineering / Inst. of Fluid Mechanics
Germany
neuweiler@hydromech.uni-hannover.de

Florian
Pappenberger

European Centre for Medium Range Weather Forecasts
Shinfield Park
Reading RG2 9AX
United Kingdom
Phone +44-(0)118-9499000
florian.pappenberger@ecmwf.int
Florian Pappenberger

Laurent
Pfister

Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology, ERIN
5, avenue des Hauts Fourneaux
4362 Esch-sur-Alzette
Luxembourg
laurent.pfister@list.lu

Monica
Riva

Politecnico di Milano, DICA
Piazza Leonardo Da Vinci 32
20133 Milano
Italy
Phone +39 02 2399 6214
monica.riva@polimi.it

Nunzio
Romano

University of Naples Federico II, Department of Agricultural Sciences - Division of Agricultural, Forest and Biosystems Engineering
Via Universita', n. 100
80055 Portici (Naples)
Italy
Phone +39-081-2539421
nunzio.romano@unina.it

Patricia
Saco

The University of Newcastle, School of Engineering
Australia

Luis
Samaniego

Helmholtz Centre - UFZ, Department Computational Hydrosystems
Permoserstraße 15
04318 Leipzig
Germany
Phone +49-(0)341-2351971
luis.samaniego@ufz.de
Luis Samaniego

Hubert H.G.
Savenije

Delft University of Technology, Water Resources Section, Department Water Management
P.O. Box 5048
2600 GA Delft
Netherlands
Phone +31-(0)15-2785080
h.h.g.savenije@tudelft.nl
Hubert H.G. Savenije

Bettina
Schaefli

University of Lausanne, IDYST
Bâtiment Géopolis
Quartier Mouline
1015 Lausanne
Switzerland

Stan
Schymanski

ETH Zurich, Institute of Biogeochemistry and Pollutant Dynamics, Soil and Terrestrial Environmental Physics (STEP)
Universitätstrasse 16
8092 Zurich
Switzerland
stanislaus.schymanski@env.ethz.ch

Jan
Seibert

University of Zurich, Department of Geography
Winterthurerstrasse 190
8057 Zürich
Switzerland
Phone +41 (0)44 63 55200
jan.seibert@geo.uzh.ch
Jan Seibert

Shraddhanand
Shukla

University of California, Santa Barbara, Department of Geography
1832 Ellison Hall
California
Santa Barbara 93106
United States
shrad@geog.ucsb.edu
Shraddhanand Shukla

Murugesu
Sivapalan

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 220 Davenport, Department of Geography
220 Davenport Hall, 607 South Mathews Avenue
Illinois
Urbana 61801
United States
Phone +1-(0)217-3332675
sivapala@illinois.edu

Louise
Slater

Loughborough University, Geography
Geography Building (60), Central Park
Loughborough LE113TU
United Kingdom
Phone 00441509222262
l.slater@lboro.ac.uk
Louise Slater

Dimitri
Solomatine

UNESCO-IHE Institute for Water Education, IWSG
P.O. Box 3015
2601DA Delft
Netherlands
Phone +31-(0)15-2151815
d.solomatine@unesco-ihe.org

Kerstin
Stahl

University of Freiburg, Hydrology
Germany

Christian
Stamm

EAWAG, Environmental Chemistry
Ueberlandstr. 133
8600 Duebendorf
Switzerland
Phone 0041-58-765 5565
christian.stamm@eawag.ch
Christian Stamm

Christine
Stumpp

Helmholtz Zentrum Muenchen GmbH, Institute of Groundwater Ecology
Ingolstaedter Landstrasse 1
85764 Neuherberg
Germany
christine.stumpp@helmholtz-muenchen.de

Bob
Su

University of Twente, ITC, WRS
Hengelosestraat 99, P.O. Box 6
7500 AA Enschede
Netherlands
z.su@utwente.nl

Sally
Thompson

University of California, Berkeley, Civil and Environmental Engineering
661 Davis Hall, University of Berkeley
California
Berkeley 94720
United States
sally.thompson@berkeley.edu

Fuqiang
Tian

Tsinghua University, Institute of Hydrology and Water Resources (IHWR), Department of Hydraulic Engineering
100084 Beijing
China
fq.tian@gmail.com
Fuqiang Tian

Elena
Toth

University of Bologna, DICAM
Viale Risorgimento, 2
40136 Bologna
Italy
Phone +39-(0)51-2093364
elena.toth@unibo.it

Stefan
Uhlenbrook

United Nations World Water Assessment Programme (WWAP), UNESCO
Villa La Colombella - Località di Colombella Alta
06134 Colombella, Perugia
Italy
Phone + 39 075 591 10 30
s.uhlenbrook@unesco.org
Stefan Uhlenbrook

Remko
Uijlenhoet

Wageningen University, Environmental Sciences, Hydrology and Quantitative Water Management
P.O. Box 47
6700 AA Wageningen
Netherlands
Phone +31 317 485760
remko.uijlenhoet@wur.nl
Remko Uijlenhoet

Nadia
Ursino

Universita' di Padova, Istituto di Idraulica, ICEA
Italy
nadia.ursino@unipd.it

Pieter
van der Zaag

IHE Delft
Netherlands
Pieter van der Zaag

Marnik
Vanclooster

Universitè catholique de Louvain, Earth and Life Institute / Environmental Sciences
2, place Croix du Sud (07.05.02)
1348 Louvain-la-Neuve
Belgium
Phone 0032-10-473710
marnik.vanclooster@uclouvain.be

Lixin
Wang

Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, Department of Earth Sciences
United States
Lixin Wang

Albrecht
Weerts

Deltares, Inland Water Systems - Operational Water Management
Rotterdamseweg 185, P.O. Box 177
2600 MH Delft
Netherlands
Phone +31-88-3358322
albrecht.weerts@deltares.nl

Markus
Weiler

University of Freiburg, Hydrology
Friedrichstr. 39
79098 Freiburg
Germany
markus.weiler@hydrology.uni-freiburg.de
Markus Weiler

Micha
Werner

IHE Delft Institute for Water Education, Water Engineering
Netherlands

Ross
Woods

University of Bristol, Civil Engineering
United Kingdom

Zhongbo
Yu

Hohai University, State Key Laboratory of Hydrology-Water Resources and Hydraulic Engineering
#1 Xikang Road
210098 Nanjing
China
zyu@hhu.edu.cn
Publications Copernicus